Neal Potter Path of Achievement Award

Printer-friendly version

The Neal Potter Path of Achievement Award each year honors two County residents 60 years old or better whose accomplishments, enthusiasm, and lifelong commitment to volunteer service make them outstanding role models for young and old alike. The Path of Achievement Award was established by County Executive Doug Duncan in 1998. In 2009, County Executive Ike Leggett named the award to honor the extraordinary lifetime of achievement of former County Executive and County Councilmember Neal Potter. The award has been co-sponsored by the Montgomery County Commission on Aging and The Beacon Newspapers. For more information contact Kathleen Meaney Stobie at 240-777-2612.

Our past winners of the Neal Potter Path of Achievement award:



Gene Counihan
View Bio
View Video

Sarah Gotbaum
View Bio
View Video



Jean Brady
View Bio 
View Video

Karin Wilson
View Bio
View Video



Joe Howard
View Bio

Mona Negm
View Bio
View Video


Marcine Goodloe
View Bio
View Video

Joyce Siegel
View Bio
View Video



Tufail Ahmad
View Bio
View Video

Ruby Rubens
View Bio
View Video



Msgr. Ralph Kuehner, Advocacy

Robert Mabie, Community Service

Dorothy Nelson, Community Service

Virginia “Ginny” Gilbert, Sports & Fitness

Rev. Samuel Myers aka Jim Dandy, Workplace Contribution

John G. Miers, Advocacy

Irene Spector, Arts & Humanities

Ruth Emerson, Community Service

John Lopes, Community Service

Joann Woodson, Workplace Contribution



Karen Montgomery, Advocacy

Eloise Strand, Community Service

Sammie Young, Community Service

Chester Kneller, Sports and Fitness

Helen Abrahams, Workplace Contribution

Nguyen Minh Chau, Advocacy

Marian Fox, Advocacy

Theodore “Ted” Hannah, Community Service

Mary “Flo” Hill, Community Service

Marilyn D’Antuono, Workplace Contribution



Margaret McRory - Advocacy

Lowell and Betty Tripp – Community Service

Irene Booth Coleman – Community Service

William H. Graham – Workplace Contribution

Robert Silberg – Arts & Humanities

Rosalie Silverberg - Advocacy

Austin Heyman - Advocacy

Pearl Isenberg – Community Service

Anne Elward – Community Service

Kenneth Putkovich – Workplace Contribution



Ling Cheung - Advocacy

Patricia Zannie – Arts & Humanities

Betty Lichtenstein – Community Service

Maryrose Rogolsky – Workplace Contribution

Doris Day – Arts & Humanities

Helen Bowman – Community Service

William Wellington – Sports & Fitness

Francis Farrow – Workplace Contribution

Horace Saunders - Advocacy



Martin Galvin – Arts & Humanities

Loise Sullivan - Advocacy

Helen McCarron – Community Service

Adrienne Lees – Sports & Fitness

Herman Meyersburg – Workplace Contribution

Donald Torr - Advocacy

Lolo Sarnoff – Arts & Humanities

Ellis Klioze – Community Service

B. Eugene Neal – Sports & Fitness

George Cohen – Workplace Contribution



John Harvil – Sports & Fitness

Margaret Coleman – Arts & Humanities

Richard Kelly – Community Service

Kermit Mohn - Advocacy

Nina Clarke – Workplace Contribution

William Tait – Sports & Fitness

Vernetta Reynolds – Workplace Contribution

Charles Pritchard – Community Service

Donna Dorros – Advocacy

Murray Stein – Arts & Humanities